Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen_c_Julia Baier

My homeland

Christian TetzlaffViolin

Maxim EmelyanychevConductor

Christian Tetzlaff (Violin), Maxim Emelyanychev (Conductor), Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Buy tickets
Friday, 6. August 2021
7:30 pm
110 min, with interval
CHF 120 | 90 | 65
Wheelchair spaces:
Further information

Bohemia in the 19th Century saw the rise of Smetana, Dvořák and later Janácek who gave musical expression to the region’s aspiration for independence from the Austro Hungarian Empire. By the end of the century, Dvořák was one of the most popular composers in Europe and owed much to the support and admiration he received from Brahms. The closing concerts of the 2021 edition of Klosters Music will be given by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen conducted by the most celebrated of the younger generation of Russian conductors, Maxim Emelyanychev. The first of the pair of concerts opens with “Die Moldau” from My Homeland, Smetana’s unforgettable evocation of his homeland. Composed in 1874 “Die Moldau” charts the course of this great river as it flows through woods, meadows and rapids until finally reaching Prague before vanishing into the distance. Mozart’s effervescent Violin Concerto no 5 in A major K219 “The Turkish” follows, played by Christian Tetzlaff who is making a welcome return to Klosters. Dvořák’s 8th Symphony, written in 1889 and dedicated to the “Bohemian Academy of Emperor Franz Josef” is a joyous work and draws its inspiration from the folk music that he loved.  It is without doubt one of his finest works, 35 minutes of joie de vivre promised.

Christian Tetzlaff, Violin
Maxim Emelyanychev, Conductor
Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Bedřich Smetana
"The Moldau" (Vitava), op. T111, JB: 112/2, E minor from the "My Homeland" series ("Má vlast"), six symphonic poems, JB 1: 112
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, KV 219
- Interval -
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8 in G major, op. 88