Klosters Music is celebrating the Beethoven Year from 31st July to 9th August 2020 – with protection concept for audience and participants

Dear Visitors, Friends and Supporters of Klosters Music,

Klosters Music welcomes stars of the classical music world and the public to celebrate the music of Beethoven and his world and reopen concert life in Switzerland. Internationally renowned artists Sir Andras Schiff; Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under the baton of Pablo Heras-Casado; Martin Helmchen; Veronika Eberle; Vienna Piano Trio and Andre Schuen; Maurice Steger and Il pomo d’oro; the Basel Chamber Orchestra and Christiana Karg (picture) under the baton of Riccardo Minasi; Pavel Haas Quartet; Gershwin Piano Quartet; and many more will be performing in Klosters this summer.


All concerts, with the exception of the Organ Recital will take place in the spacious Concert Hall of the Arena Klosters which has very good acoustics and offers enough space for protection. Klosters Music is pleased to be able to realize the planned series of extraordinary concerts featuring some of Beethoven’s most outstanding and important works.

With the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the Basel Chamber Orchestra, two of the best orchestras in Europe are coming to Klosters. The multi-award-winning soprano and well-known Mozart singer Christiane Karg will perform a Mozart opera gala with arias from “La nozze di Figaro” and “Così fan tutte” together with the Basel Chamber Orchestra conducted by Riccardo Minasi. The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen is responsible for the major symphonic concert evenings in Klosters: Beethoven’s Symphonies No. 3 & No. 7, the Piano Concerto No. 5 with Martin Helmchen, and the Violin Concerto with Veronika Eberle will be performed under the direction of Pablo Heras-Casado. Maurice Steger and the ensemble Il pomo d’oro stand for an unmistakable concert experience with works by composers from the era before Beethoven, who changed the musical world forever. The crowning finale of Klosters Music 2020 is a concert entitled “The Crowning Glory” with Sir András Schiff, one of the greatest artists of our time, and his interpretation of Beethoven’s last three piano sonatas.

Klosters Music is implementing its protective measures carefully and comprehensively in accordance with the requirements of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), the relevant cantonal guidelines and the recommendations of the cultural sector. Visitors can expect concert seating with generous seat spacing (one free seat between individuals, also between couples or groups of guests and other people) and a visitor guidance system that allows for spacing at the entrance and at the end of the concert. Contact tracing is guaranteed at all times. The protection concept will be available on the homepage and will be continuously adapted to the changing requirements of the health authorities depending on developments.

Already purchased tickets remain valid and will be booked in the concert hall of the arena. The cardholders were informed personally from 3 June onwards. Concert visitors who wish to return tickets that they have already purchased will be reimbursed in full.

Concert tickets for Klosters Music can now be booked online again. The number of seats is limited due to the protection concept, we recommend an early reservation. The rebooking of the purchased concert tickets to the concert hall of the Arena has been completed. The ticket holders were informed personally on 3 June and will receive the rebooked tickets towards the end of June.

What for a long time had been a distant prospect has now become reality, to the delight of all music lovers: experience and enjoy musical moments and cultural magic moments together. Klosters attracts with its unique atmosphere and impressive mountain scenery – both are united in “Beethoven and his world”.

With warmest greetings – and stay healthy!

David Whelton, Artistic Director Klosters Music
Franziska von Arb, General Manager Klosters Music
Heinz Brand, President Foundation Art & Music, Klosters