Farewells and beginnings

Steven IsserlisVioloncello

Maxim EmelyanychevConductor

Steven Isserlis (Violoncello), Maxim Emelyanychev (Conductor), Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Buy tickets
Saturday, 7. August 2021
7:30 pm
120 min, with interval
CHF 120 | 90 | 65
Wheelchair spaces:
Further information

The second of the pair of concerts opens with Smetana’s glittering Overture to his opera “The Bartered Bride”, the first opera to create a truly Czech operatic genre making use of traditional dance forms. Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, written in 1895 whilst in America and one of the greatest written for the instrument, is suffused with a sense of homesickness and longing. For this performance the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen is joined by star cellist Steven Isserlis who writes of “the power of its emotional journey” and it is this combination of emotional power and simplicity that creates an overwhelming experience in the concert hall. Brahms spent 21 years composing his 1st Symphony which, from its premier in 1876 was often referred to as “Beethoven’s 10th”. It is a work of great majesty, power and drama which culminates in one of the most memorable last movements in the symphonic repertory.

Steven Isserlis, Violoncello
Maxim Emelyanychev, Conductor
Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Bedřich Smetana
Overture from "The Bartered Bride" (Prodaná nevesta), Opera in three acts, JB: 1:100
Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Cello und Orchestra, B minor, op. 104
- Interval -
Johannes Brahms
Symphony no. 1, C minor, op. 68