Kammerorchester Basel Group photo-3_c_ Lukasz Rajchert_NEU

Opening Concert Mozart and Prague

Jakub HrůšaLeitung

Kammerorchester Basel

Lucas Debargue (Piano), Giulia Semenzato (Soprano), Hanno Müller-Brachmann (Baritone), Jakub Hrůša (Conductor), Kammerorchester Basel

Buy tickets
Saturday, 31. July 2021
7:30 pm
120 min, with interval
CHF 120 | 90 | 65
Wheelchair spaces:
Further information

Visitors aged 16 years or over must show a Covid certificate together with an identification document. The Covid certificate provides documentary evidence that you have had a Covid-19 vaccination, have had and recovered from the disease or have tested negative.

Klosters Music 2021 dedicates the opening concert to the great composer Mozart and his love for the Bohemian city of Prague.

It is hardly surprising that Prague, one of the musical capitals of 18th Century Europe, was home to many fine ensembles and had a vibrant operatic tradition. It attracted Mozart and his contemporaries who were impressed by its charisma and charm. Mozart (1756-1791) visited Prague at least 4 times and was idolised by its public. Le nozze di Figaro and Don Giovanni were performed to great acclaim and La clemenza di Tito was commissioned for the coronation of the King of Bohemia in 1791.

Mozart’s Symphony no 38 was premiered in Prague in 1787. Straining the limits of what his orchestra can do, Mozart creates a tumult of symphonic imagination and riotous creativity. A lifetime of listening will not exhaust its richness.  We are delighted to welcome the leading Czech conductor, Jakub Hrůša and The Basel Chamber Orchestra to Klosters for what promises to be a definitive performance of this work. The A major piano concerto of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is a work of lyricism and serenity, elegant and flowing.  It is recognised as one of Mozart’s greatest achievements. The French pianist Lucas Debargue, a Laureate of the XV Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow where he was awarded the critics’ prize for his incredible gifts, artistic vision and creative freedom, will perform this sublime work.  A selection of Arias from Don Giovanni and La nozze di Figaro complete the program.

Lucas Debargue, Piano
Giulia Semenzato, Soprano
Hanno Müller-Brachmann, Baritone
Jakub Hrůša, Conductor
Kammerorchester Basel

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony no. 38 in D major, "Prague Symphony", KV 504
Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, KV 488
- Interval -
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Overture from “The Marriage of Figaro", KV 492
Aria “Giunse al fin il momento - deh vieni non tardar” from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Aria “Tutto è disposto”
from “The Marriage of Figaro", KV 492
Aria “Crudele? Non mi dir”
from “Don Giovanni”, KV 527
Aria “Madamina, il catalago è questo”
from “Don Giovanni”, KV 527
Duettino “Crudel! Perché finora farmi languir così?” from “The Marriage of Figaro”, KV 492
Duet “Cinque… dieci… venti… trenta…”
from “The Marriage of Figaro", KV 492