Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, ©Nancy Horowitz Kopie

A Summer Night's Dream

Arabella SteinbacherViolin

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Arabella Steinbacher (Violin), Patrick Hahn (Conductor), Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Buy tickets
Saturday, 6. August 2022
7:00 pm
120 min, with interval
CHF 120 | 90 | 65
Wheelchair spaces:
Weitere Informationen
Four floating wind chords – then the fast, delicate figures in the violins lead directly into the fragrant fairy realm of King Oberon.
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s overture to William Shakespeare’s sensual comedy “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” stands at the beginning of this concert, which presents exclusively masterpieces. Joseph Haydn’s final Symphony No. 104 in D Major (“London”) is the culmination of his symphonic output. Johannes Brahms Violin Concerto, composed in Thun in 1887, marks a peak in his repertoire that must be climbed. The technically skilled, musically exciting Munich violinist Arabella Steinbacher has everything it takes to make this challenging mountain climb a success. On this evening, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg will be led by the highly-talented, Austrian conductor Patrick Hahn, who is only 27 years old.  He is standing in for Riccardo Minasi who is unable to attend. Hahn is General Music Director in Wuppertal and thus the youngest GMD in the German-speaking world. In his remarkable career, the rising star has already conducted the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra and most recently the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

Patrick Hahn, Conductor
Arabella Steinbacher, Violin
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Felix Mendelssohn
Overture "Midsummer Night’s Dream"
Johannes Brahms
Violin concerto in D major, op. 77
– Interval –
Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 104 in D major “London Symphony”, Hob. I:104